Why Nollywood Genevieve Nnaji May Not Feature in a Hollywood Film Soon

Many might consider her as having featured in one already due to her not-too-insignificant role in Half of a Yellow Sun but Nigerian actress, Genevieve Nnaji says she isn’t burdened with the thoughts of featuring in Hollywood movies.

She revealed this while chatting with Olisa Adibua on The Truth.

‘I have never really envisioned that, funny enough. I’m passionate about building a successful movie industry in Nigeria instead of shipping a Nigerian export’ she said in response to the question about her plans for Hollywood.

She further denied the anti-Nollywood sentiment she reportedly expressed during an interview with Punch Newspapers.

‘I didn’t say that, I would never. Somebody did some sort of research, found somethings on the internet and took it as my quote, that’s not cool.

You know me, I don’t respond to rumours but at that point, it was important. I had to make a statement because saying I had outgrown Nollywood was not just a slap on my face I am part of Nollywood and for me, it is an insult to my industry. It has given us so much so the least we can do is respect it.’

Genny, as she is fondly called, started her acting career a popular television soap, Ripples as a child and was ushered into Nollywood in 1998 with Most Wanted. She is easily one of Nollywood’s leading ladies either in terms of movies she has featured in or the revenue that has accrued to her.

Source: Talk of Naija
____________________________________
FROM Da SOURCE by lnvisiblε NεtωorK™

Leave a Reply

